Nicole Jacobsen
Pin on Pinterest

The Episcopal School of Dallas is proud to announce the 65 students recognized as 2013 Advanced Placement Scholars by the College Board. In all, ESD scored an 88.3 percent passing rate on all tests taken, compared to the Texas average of 47.7 percent and national 59 percent passing rate.

AP exams are scored on a 1 to 5 scale, with a score of 3 or higher designating passing. More than 92 percent of ESD students taking an AP exam scored a 3 or higher on at least one or more AP exams compared to 51 percent of all Texas AP students. The mean score for all tests taken by ESD students was 3.67, more than one point higher than the state average of 2.56, and nearly a whole point higher than the national average of 2.89. Every ESD student enrolled in an AP class is required to take the exam; ESD students not enrolled in AP courses also have the option to take an exam.

Three students from ESD's Class of 2013 received the National AP Scholar Award and AP Scholar with Distinction, earning an average grade of 4 or higher on a 5-point scale on all AP exams taken, and a score of 4 or higher on at least eight exams. Students qualifying for this honor include Daniel Hull ’13, Wilson Miller ’13, and Matthew Mrozek ’13.

Twenty-six ESD students earned AP Scholar with Distinction for scoring an average grade of 3.5 on all of their exams, and a 3 or higher on five or more exams. These students are: Blake Archer ’13, Arthur Beckel ’13, Kirby Brand ’13, Mitchell Burden ’13, Ines Bustamante ’14, Claire Cahoon ’13, Catherine Duffy ’13, Amanda Eggers ’13, Baron Farmar ’13, Emily Fitzgerald ’13, Anna Hansell ’13, Maya Harris ’13, Daniel Hull ’13, Crawford Kob ’13, Rithi Kotamarti ’13, Austin Magnuson ’13, Wilson Miller ’13, Blake Moore ’13, Matthew Mrozek ’13, David Saustad ’13, Sarah Spellings ’13, William Stargardt ’13, Jonathan Stern ’13, Grace Trammell ’13, Ann Walker ’13, and E Marie Witkin ’13.

Megan Sims ’14 completed five or more AP exams with an average score of 3.5, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more exams, by the end of her junior year, earning her the honor of AP Scholar with Distinction.

Twenty students, including five from the Class of 2014, have received the AP Scholar with Honor Award for scoring a 3.25 average on all of their AP exams. Each of these students earned a score of 3 or higher on four or more exams. These students are: Kathryn Anderson ’13, Alexander Beane ’13, Caroline Brennan ’13, Mary Cole Daulton ’13, Asia Hawkins ’13, Katherine Kob ’13, William Lipscomb’14, Catherine Lovitt ’14, Sydney Narvaez ’13, Carolyn Overbeck ’13, Michael Pappas ’14, Anderson Riddick ’14, Cliff Ritter ’13, Megan Rooney ’14, Megan Sheets ’13, Jory Shive ’13, Ellen Sliva ’13, Alexandra Snyder ’14, Catherine Talbot ’13, and Matthew Wheeler ’13.

Eighteen ESD students from the Classes of 2013 and 2014 received the AP Scholar award for scoring a 3 or higher on three or more AP exams. These students include: Alexandra Aronowitz ’14, Emily Barnes ’14, Ryan Converse ’13, Sara Jane Emmons ’14, Lindsay Gerard ’13, Lauren Griffin ’13, Alexander Gulis ’14, Cyrus Hamid-Khani ’13, Wynne Hobbs ’14, Todd Jensen ’14, Hudson Leiser ’13, Ryan Meier ’13, Vinita Mundluru ’13, Brittany Perry ’13, Sophie Sisson ’14, Leah Smith ’13, Seth Stukalin ’13, and James Walker ’13.

For more information about the College Board Advanced Placement exams, please click here.

Featured Link

Related Posts