Pin on Pinterest
TWU Virginia Chandler Dykes Luncheon Lindalyn Adams, Bob White


Dahlberg honored for her commitment to education, social services, the arts, and community development

In its 14th year of recognizing a Dallas leader with a lifelong commitment to bettering society, improving quality of life, and furthering the importance of education, Texas Woman’s University honored Francie Moody-Dahlberg with the 2016 Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award, sponsored by Bank of Texas, on Feb. 10. More than 350 friends, colleagues, philanthropists, leaders, and supporters gathered at the Belo Mansion to honor Moody-Dahlberg, executive director and a trustee of The Moody Foundation as well as a director of the Moody Endowment.

“The impact of Francie’s work in the community, coupled with the work of the family foundation, is absolutely immeasurable,” said Dr. Carine Feyten, chancellor and president, TWU.

Francie Moody-Dahlberg serves on the board of AT&T Performing Arts Center and the executive board of Southern Methodist University’s Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education and Human Development as well as the advisory board of the Perot Museum of Nature and Science.  She is serving as honorary chair of the capital campaign, “Working Wonders,” for the University of Texas Medical Branch-Galveston.  In 2013, she served as the honorary chair of the Equest Luncheon, and The Crystal Charity Ball elected her to the 2015 Dallas Best Dressed List.  At The Moody Foundation, she is continuing her family’s legacy of supporting projects that benefit present and future Texans.

“I am so pleased to be connected with Virginia Chandler Dykes and the leadership award created in her honor,” said Francie Moody-Dahlberg. “She is a woman after my own heart. It’s my understanding that, like my grandmother and other important women in my life, her grandmother served as her motivational source and inspirational wellspring. And as I do, she has a deep love of the arts and a passion for the vital role that women play in making our world a better place. Virginia is an inspirational model who epitomizes the way leadership is meant to work.”

Attendees included many past award recipients: Ralph Hawkins, Mary Brinegar, Patricia Meadows, Myrna Schlegel, Kathleen Mason, Caroline Rose Hunt, Lindalyn Adams, Dr. and Mrs. Kern Wildenthal, and Geraldine “Tincy” Miller. 

While Dr. Carine Feyten highlighted some of TWU’s recent accomplishments, guests dined on herb-dusted filet beef with maître d’ butter, boursin cheese mashed potatoes, asparagus and a roasted tomato.

The Virginia Chandler Dykes luncheon also provides scholarships for four outstanding graduate students, while continuing to grow the Virginia Chandler Dykes Endowment and helping the Dallas community better understand the value of TWU graduates to Dallas’ professional workforce.  This year’s scholarship recipients, representing each of TWU’s four colleges, are Veronica Rowe, Mary Roberts, Tara Signs, and Erin Ellis-Guffey.

“Past luncheons have raised over $550,000 for scholarships for TWU students, who have become leaders in their professions and communities,” according to Virginia Chandler Dykes, a distinguished alumna in the field of occupational therapy whose vision and leadership gave TWU this signature event in Dallas. “I am so proud of all of our recipients and their accomplishments.”

Francie Moody-Dahlberg added, “TWU is an incredible place for providing an educational opportunity for first generation college students, for giving students who must have significant financial assistance an academic home, and for embracing the diversity that is today’s America,” added Moody-Dahlberg. I truly appreciate this amazing honor.”



Recognize 25336 Views