Pin on Pinterest
TWU Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Reception Martha Dahlberg, Sharon Venable, Heidi Tracy, Michael Meadows

Francie Moody-Dahlberg,  executive director and a trustee of The Moody Foundation as well as a director of the Moody Endowment, has been named the recipient of the 14th Annual Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award, presented by Bank of Texas and Texas Woman’s University and the Texas Woman’s University Foundation. The announcement was made at the home of last year’s award recipient Ralph Hawkins on October 6.  Texas Woman’s University Chancellor and President Dr. Carine M. Feyten will present the award at the Virginia Chandler Dykes luncheon event Feb. 10, 2016, 11:15 a.m. to 1:15 p.m., at the Belo Mansion and Pavilion, 2101 Ross Ave., Dallas, Texas, 75201.


“TWU is thrilled and honored to name Francie Moody-Dahlberg as the 14th Annual Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award Recipient,” said TWU Chancellor and President Dr. Carine M. Feyten.  “The impact of her work in the community, coupled with the work of the family foundation, is absolutely immeasurable.  With an ongoing emphasis on education, social services, children’s needs, the arts, and community development, Francie and The Moody Foundation are inspiring transformation in this community and beyond – not only for thousands of people today, but also for many generations to come.”


Established in 2002, the Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award is given annually to Dallas leaders with a lifelong commitment to improving the quality of life in the community and to furthering the importance of education. The award recognizes the life work of TWU alumna Virginia Chandler Dykes as an outstanding health care provider, whose professional and civic achievements represent a lifetime committed to helping others.  Past award recipients are Ralph Hawkins, 2015; Mary Brinegar, 2014; Patricia and Curtis Meadows, 2013; Myrna D. Schlegel and Kimberly Schlegel Whitman, 2012; Joel Allison, 2011; Kathleen Mason, 2010; Caroline Rose Hunt, 2009; T. Boone Pickens, 2008; Lindalyn Adams, 2007; Dr. and Mrs. Kern Wildenthal, 2006; Gretchen Minyard Williams and J.L. “Sonny” Williams, 2005; Geraldine “Tincy” Miller, 2004; and Susan and Charles Cooper, 2003. 


Francie Moody-Dahlberg serves on the board of AT&T Performing Arts Center and the executive board of Southern Methodist University’s Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education and Human Development as well as the advisory board of the Perot Museum of Nature and Science.  She is serving as honorary chair of the capital campaign, “Working Wonders,” for the University of Texas Medical Branch-Galveston.  In 2013, she served as the honorary chair of the Equest Luncheon, and The Crystal Charity Ball elected her to the 2015 Dallas Best Dressed List.  At The Moody Foundation, she is continuing her family’s legacy of supporting projects that benefit present and future Texans.


The Moody Foundation was established in 1942 by Moody-Dahlberg’s great-grandparents William L. Moody Jr. and his wife, Libbie Rice Shearn Moody. The foundation has awarded grants throughout the state, often focusing on capital projects for private colleges as well as support for children’s health projects, museums, gardens, libraries and historic preservation. Over the years, it has made more than $1.2 billion in grants throughout the state to organizations that have educated, healed, nurtured, and inspired generations of Texans.  Recent gifts include challenge grants to the Perot Museum of Nature and Science and funding for critical resources in stem cell and cancer research at the Children’s Research Institute. Other projects include sponsorship of the Winspear’s Starlight Chandelier; assistance with construction and maintenance of Klyde Warren Park and Moody Plaza within the park; construction of the Letot Girl’s Residential Treatment Center; the Moody Family YMCA in the Park Cities; a wellness park at the new Parkland Hospital; The Moody Oasis rooftop garden at the Rory Meyers Children’s Adventure Garden; and renovation of SMU’s Moody Coliseum.  The foundation is known for Moody Gardens in Galveston, conceived in the ‘80s and generating annual revenues in excess of $50 million as well as revenues to area businesses. Additional projects include The Transitional Learning Center, offering rehabilitation services to survivors of traumatic brain injury and research opportunities and Moody Scholars, begun in 1969, providing over $1 million in scholarship assistance to 18 Texas schools per year. From arts and education, to social services, to environmental causes and health, The Moody Foundation has stayed true to the founder’s intent “to benefit in perpetuity present and future generations of Texans.”  


In November, The Moody Foundation will be honored with the Outstanding Foundation Award by the Greater Dallas Chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals at the National Philanthropy Day Awards Luncheon.


"This is such a wonderful honor, and I am truly pleased to be able to support the outstanding graduate education that the Virginia Chandler Dykes Award has come to represent,” said Francie Moody-Dahlberg.


The Virginia Chandler Dykes Award namesake, Virginia Chandler Dykes, is known internationally for her work in occupational therapy. Locally, she is known for her leadership in many cultural and charitable organizations. In 2005 she was appointed by Gov. Rick Perry to serve on the Texas Woman’s University Board of Regents, where she served until 2011.


Mrs. Dykes completed the graduate occupational therapy program at TWU in 1954 after earning her bachelor of arts in art and psychology from Southern Methodist University. She was the director of the Occupational and Recreational Therapy Department at Baylor University Medical Center for 25 years. In 2002, she established The Virginia Chandler Dykes endowed scholarship fund at TWU for occupational therapy students.  Net luncheon proceeds provide additional scholarships for each of TWU’s four colleges: College of Health Sciences (Occupational Therapy), Nursing, Professional Education (COPE), and Arts and Sciences. Mrs. Dykes and her late husband Roland also helped to establish the Fanny B. Vanderkooi Endowed Lectureship for the School of Occupational Therapy at TWU, which has grown to be one of the premier continuing education offerings in Texas. She is also well known for her leadership in organizations such as The Dallas Opera, the Dallas Arboretum’s Women’s Council and the Fort Worth Opera.


The 2015 Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award Luncheon Advisory Committee members are: Joel Allison, Norm Bagwell, Barbara Bradfield, April Box, John Falldine, Sharon McCullough, and Bill Patterson.


“In addition to honoring outstanding individuals in the community, the Virginia Chandler Dykes luncheon provides scholarships for four outstanding graduate students, while continuing to grow the Virginia Chandler Dykes Endowment and helping the Dallas community better understand the value of TWU graduates to Dallas’ professional workforce,” added Dr. Feyten.


The following graduate students from all four colleges will be honored at the luncheon as recipients of scholarship funds: Veronica Rowe, College of Health Sciences (Occupational Therapy), sponsored by Edgemere – Dallas/SQLC Charitable Foundation; Mary Roberts, College of Nursing, sponsored by Luther King Capital Management; Tara L. Roush, College of Professional Education (COPE), sponsored by Geraldine “Tincy” Miller; and Erin Ellis, College of Arts and Sciences, sponsored by Sis Carr.  


In the past 14 years, over $550,000 has been raised for scholarships, and nearly 100 scholarships have been awarded from the proceeds of this luncheon. 


Tickets for the February 10 luncheon are $175 for silver patron; $250 for gold patron.  For more information, call 940-898-3872, visit, or email

Recognize 19659 Views