Pin on Pinterest
TWU’s Virginia Chandler Dykes Award Announcement Dr. Stephen Mansfield, Ralph Hawkins, Norm Bagwell


Petroskey will be honored with 17th Annual Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award at luncheon on February 27


Dale Petroskey, president and CEO, Dallas Regional Chamber, has been named the recipient of the 17th Annual Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award, presented by Bank of Texas and Texas Woman’s University and the Texas Woman’s University Foundation. The announcement was made at the Park Cities Club on November 13 at a reception hosted by Norman Bagwell, the 2018 Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award recipient, and Robin Bagwell. Texas Woman’s University Chancellor and President Dr. Carine M. Feyten will present the award at the Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award luncheon, Feb. 27, 2019, 11:15 a.m. to 1:15 p.m., at the Belo Mansion and Pavilion, 2101 Ross Ave., Dallas, Texas, 75201. The luncheon is chaired by Ralph Hawkins, recipient of the 2015 Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award.

“We are honored to present Dale Petroskey with the 17th Annual Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award,” said Carine M. Feyten, Ph.D., Texas Woman’s University chancellor and president. “Throughout his career, Dale has served as an advocate for economic development through pro-growth public policy. He sees the need for a strong talent pipeline to meet the future requirements of local businesses, and he supports educational initiatives and improvements to make this a reality. He is a visionary leader in the community, whom we are pleased to recognize for his incredible business acumen, dedication, discipline and persistence.”

Dale Petroskey has more than 30 years of leadership experience in the public, private, and non- profit sectors. In April 2014, he became president and CEO of the Dallas Regional Chamber, one of the largest and most established business organizations in the state of Texas, representing 1,100 member companies. The DRC works to strengthen the business community by attracting companies and talented workers from around the world, improving education, advocating for pro-growth public policies, and enhancing the quality of life for all in the Dallas Region.

Mr. Petroskey’s career also includes service as Assistant White House Press Secretary to President Ronald Reagan; senior vice president for Mission Programs at National Geographic; and president of the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum in Cooperstown, New York.

Mr. Petroskey is a member of numerous boards, including the Dallas Citizens Council, The Salvation Army of DFW, Dallas Medical Resources, Educate Dallas, SMU’s Lyle School of Engineering, The Alfalfa Club of Washington, D.C., the Texas Rangers Baseball Foundation, Clayton Kershaw’s Challenge, and the Dallas Mavericks Advisory Council.

Mr. Petroskey and his wife, Ann, both graduates of Michigan State University, live in Dallas and have three grown children.

Established in 2002, the Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award is given annually to Dallas leaders with a lifelong commitment to improving the quality of life in the community and to furthering the importance of education. The award recognizes the life work of TWU alumna Virginia Chandler Dykes as an outstanding health care provider whose professional and civic achievements represent a lifetime committed to helping others.  Past award recipients are Norman P. Bagwell, 2018; Stephen L. Mansfield, 2017; Frances Anne “Francie” Moody-Dahlberg, 2016; Ralph Hawkins, 2015; Mary Brinegar, 2014; Patricia and Curtis Meadows, 2013; Myrna D. Schlegel and Kimberly Schlegel Whitman, 2012; Joel Allison, 2011; Kathleen Mason, 2010; Caroline Rose Hunt, 2009; T. Boone Pickens, 2008; Lindalyn Bennett Adams, 2007; Marnie and Kern Wildenthal, 2006; Gretchen Minyard Williams and J.L. “Sonny” Williams, 2005; Geraldine “Tincy” Miller, 2004; and Susan and Charles Cooper, 2003. 

“I am humbled to receive the 2019 Virginia Chandler Dykes Award and to join the distinguished list of previous honorees, including former Dallas Regional Chamber (DRC) Chairs Steve Mansfield, Ralph Hawkins, and Norm Bagwell,” said Dale Petroskey. “The DRC is proud to partner with Texas Woman’s University to increase college access and completion rates for our college students, and to connect them to the workforce needs and opportunities in North Texas.”

The Virginia Chandler Dykes Award namesake, Virginia Chandler Dykes, is known internationally for her work in occupational therapy. In 2012, Virginia and her late husband Roland were honored by the American Occupational Therapy Association for their sustained philanthropic service to Occupational Therapy Education, and in 2011, they were honored with the Texas Occupational Therapy Distinguished Service Award. Locally, she is known for her leadership in many cultural and charitable organizations. She was named the 2016 Visionary Woman by the Juliette Fowler Communities, and in 2014 she was honored as one of six Women of the Year by Les Femmes du Monde. In 2005 she was appointed by Gov. Rick Perry to serve on the Texas Woman’s University Board of Regents, where she served until 2011.


Mrs. Dykes completed the graduate occupational therapy program at TWU in 1954 after earning her bachelor of arts in art and psychology from Southern Methodist University. She was the director of the Occupational and Recreational Therapy Department at Baylor University Medical Center for 25 years. In 2002, she established The Virginia Chandler Dykes endowed scholarship fund at TWU for occupational therapy students.  Net luncheon proceeds provide additional scholarships for each of TWU’s colleges: College of Health Sciences (Occupational Therapy), Nursing, Professional Education (COPE), and Arts and Sciences. This year, a fifth scholarship will be presented to a graduate student in TWU’s new College of Business. Mrs. Dykes and her late husband Roland also helped to establish the Fanny B. Vanderkooi Endowed Lectureship for the School of Occupational Therapy at TWU, which has grown to be one of the premier continuing education offerings in Texas. She is also well known for her leadership in organizations such as The Dallas Opera, the Dallas Arboretum’s Women’s Council and the Fort Worth Opera.

“In addition to honoring outstanding individuals in the community, the Virginia Chandler Dykes Luncheon provides scholarships for five outstanding graduate students, while continuing to grow the Virginia Chandler Dykes Endowment and helping the Dallas community better understand the value of TWU graduates to Dallas’ professional workforce,” added Dr. Feyten.

The following graduate students representing each of TWU’s five colleges will be honored at the luncheon as recipients of scholarship funds: Janice Kishi Chow, College of Health Sciences (Occupational Therapy); Amie Bedgood, College of Nursing; Patricia Flint, College of Professional Education (COPE); Paramita Basu, College of Arts and Sciences; and Meghan Labiak, College of Business.

In the past 16 years, more than $700,000 has been raised for scholarships from the proceeds of this luncheon.  Tickets for the February 27 luncheon are $175 for silver patron; $250 for gold patron.  For more information, call 940-898-3865, visit, or email

Recognize 19133 Views