Pin on Pinterest
TWU Virginia Chandler Dykes Announcement Reception Pianist Linda Arnold

Norman P. Bagwell, CEO of Bank of Texas and Executive Vice President of BOK Financial, has been named the recipient of the 16th Annual Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award, presented by Bank of Texas and Texas Woman’s University and the Texas Woman’s University Foundation. The announcement was made at the home of last year’s award recipient Stephen Mansfield on November 15.  Texas Woman’s University Chancellor and President Dr. Carine M. Feyten will present the award at the Virginia Chandler Dykes luncheon event Feb. 21, 2018, 11:15 a.m. to 1:15 p.m., at the Belo Mansion and Pavilion, 2101 Ross Ave., Dallas, Texas, 75201.

“An inspirational leader known for his business acumen, positive attitude, and devotion to the community, Norm Bagwell is a beloved and highly respected member of this community,” said Dr. Carine M. Feyten, Texas Woman's chancellor and president. “Through his leadership at Bank of Texas, Norm Bagwell demonstrates a commitment to serve others, which is evident in Bank of Texas’ partnership with this annual event since 2007. We are honored to present him with the 16th Annual Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award for his ongoing commitment to improving life for others including helping so many to achieve their dreams through education.”

Norm Bagwell, the CEO of Bank of Texas and the executive vice president of BOK Financial, is responsible for all regional banks, commercial banking, business banking and treasury services across the eight-state footprint. Recently, he was named chairman of the Baylor Healthcare System Foundation and appointed trustee of the Salesmanship Club Foundation. Bagwell serves on several boards including the Board of Directors for Bank of Texas, Junior League of Dallas, and Panola Company LTD, and he is chairman of the CEO Council of the Dallas Arboretum and past chairman of the Dallas Regional Chamber. He is a member of the Salesmanship Club, Maverick Chapter WPO, Dallas Assembly and Dallas Citizens Council. 

Bagwell is the recipient of numerous honors, including the Chairman’s Leadership Award from the Dallas Regional Chamber of Commerce, the Distinguished Alumni award from Southern Methodist University and Cox School of Business, and the Torch of Conscience award from the American Jewish Congress. In 2013, Bagwell and his wife, Robin, received the Margaret Sharpe Award for Community Service. He received his B.A. and B.B.A. degrees from Southern Methodist University, where he is a distinguished alumnus from the Cox School of Business.

Established in 2002, the Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award is given annually to Dallas leaders with a lifelong commitment to improving the quality of life in the community and to furthering the importance of education. The award recognizes the life work of TWU alumna Virginia Chandler Dykes as an outstanding health care provider whose professional and civic achievements represent a lifetime committed to helping others.  Past award recipients are Stephen L. Mansfield, 2017; Frances Anne “Francie” Moody-Dahlberg, 2016; Ralph Hawkins, 2015; Mary Brinegar, 2014; Patricia and Curtis Meadows, 2013; Myrna D. Schlegel and Kimberly Schlegel Whitman, 2012; Joel Allison, 2011; Kathleen Mason, 2010; Caroline Rose Hunt, 2009; T. Boone Pickens, 2008; Lindalyn Bennett Adams, 2007; Marnie and Kern Wildenthal, 2006; Gretchen Minyard Williams and J.L. “Sonny” Williams, 2005; Geraldine “Tincy” Miller, 2004; and Susan and Charles Cooper, 2003. 

“I have a long admired the work of TWU and Virginia Chandler Dykes.  Both have been at the forefront of building tomorrow’s workforce,” said Norm Bagwell, the 2018 Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award recipient. “The university and its programs have been a real difference maker in our community.  To be associated with Virginia Chandler Dykes, Dr. Feyten, and those previously recognized is a tremendous honor.  I am very humbled to be the recipient of the 2018 Leadership Award.” 

The Virginia Chandler Dykes Award namesake, Virginia Chandler Dykes, is known internationally for her work in occupational therapy. In 2012, Virginia and her late husband Roland were honored by the American Occupational Therapy Association for their sustained philanthropic service to Occupational Therapy Education, and in 2011, they were honored with the Texas Occupational Therapy Distinguished Service Award. Locally, she is known for her leadership in many cultural and charitable organizations. She was named the 2016 Visionary Woman by the Juliette Fowler Communities, and in 2014 she was honored as one of six Women of the Year by Les Femmes du Monde. In 2005 she was appointed by Gov. Rick Perry to serve on the Texas Woman’s University Board of Regents, where she served until 2011.

Mrs. Dykes completed the graduate occupational therapy program at TWU in 1954 after earning her bachelor of arts in art and psychology from Southern Methodist University. She was the director of the Occupational and Recreational Therapy Department at Baylor University Medical Center for 25 years. In 2002, she established The Virginia Chandler Dykes endowed scholarship fund at TWU for occupational therapy students.  Net luncheon proceeds provide additional scholarships for each of TWU’s four colleges: College of Health Sciences (Occupational Therapy), Nursing, Professional Education (COPE), and Arts and Sciences. Mrs. Dykes and her late husband Roland also helped to establish the Fanny B. Vanderkooi Endowed Lectureship for the School of Occupational Therapy at TWU, which has grown to be one of the premier continuing education offerings in Texas. She is also well known for her leadership in organizations such as The Dallas Opera, the Dallas Arboretum’s Women’s Council and the Fort Worth Opera.

“In addition to honoring outstanding individuals in the community, the Virginia Chandler Dykes luncheon provides scholarships for four outstanding graduate students, while continuing to grow the Virginia Chandler Dykes Endowment and helping the Dallas community better understand the value of TWU graduates to Dallas’ professional workforce,” added Dr. Feyten.

The following graduate students from four colleges will be honored at the luncheon as recipients of scholarship funds: Kaye C. Rubio, College of Health Sciences (Occupational Therapy), Dawn Murphy, College of Nursing, sponsored by Luther King Capital Management; Lorraine Cadwallader, College of Professional Education (COPE); and Geethanjali Ravindranathan, College of Arts and Sciences.

In the past 15 years, more than $700,000 has been raised for scholarships from the proceeds of this luncheon. 

Tickets for the February 21 luncheon are $175 for silver patron; $250 for gold patron.  For more information, call940-898-3872, visit, or email

Recognize 24140 Views
Related Posts