Pin on Pinterest
TWU Virginia Chandler Dykes Reception Julie Southward, Dean Jerry Whitworth (Julie will receive the TWU VCD Scholarship for the College of Professional Education)





Mansfield will be honored at luncheon in March


Preston Hollow Resident Dr. Stephen Mansfield, president and CEO of Dallas-based Methodist Health System, has been named the recipient of the 15th Annual Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award, presented by Bank of Texas and Texas Woman’s University and the Texas Woman’s University Foundation. The announcement was made at the home of last year’s award recipient Francie Moody-Dahlberg on November 9. Texas Woman’s University Chancellor and President Dr. Carine M. Feyten will present the award at the Virginia Chandler Dykes luncheon event March 8, 2017, 11:15 a.m. to 1:15 p.m., at the Belo Mansion and Pavilion, 2101 Ross Ave., Dallas, Texas, 75201.

“The City of Dallas and its renowned medical community have been critical partners in TWU’s success for more than 50 years,” said Dr. Carine Feyten, TWU Chancellor and President. “TWU is honored to recognize Dr. Stephen Mansfield as the 15th Annual Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award Recipient for the important role he has played in this partnership. Under his leadership, Methodist Health System has doubled in size, increasing both capacity and services offered and providing an incredible environment for our students and graduates to work and thrive. His inspirational leadership extends into the community, demonstrating his ongoing commitment to improving the quality of life, driving improvements to education and advancing partnerships.”

Established in 2002, the Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award is given annually to Dallas leaders with a lifelong commitment to improving the quality of life in the community and to furthering the importance of education. The award recognizes the life work of TWU alumna Virginia Chandler Dykes as an outstanding health care provider whose professional and civic achievements represent a lifetime committed to helping others.  Past award recipients are Francie Moody-Dahlberg 2016; Ralph Hawkins, 2015; Mary Brinegar, 2014; Patricia and Curtis Meadows, 2013; Myrna D. Schlegel and Kimberly Schlegel Whitman, 2012; Joel Allison, 2011; Kathleen Mason, 2010; Caroline Rose Hunt, 2009; T. Boone Pickens, 2008; Lindalyn Adams, 2007; Dr. and Mrs. Kern Wildenthal, 2006; Gretchen Minyard Williams and J.L. “Sonny” Williams, 2005; Geraldine “Tincy” Miller, 2004; and Susan and Charles Cooper, 2003. 

Dr. Mansfield has served as president and CEO of Dallas-based Methodist Health System since 2006. During his tenure Methodist Health System has tripled in size and was acknowledged by Modern Healthcare as one of the 40 fastest growing health systems in the nation. Methodist also has been recognized by Thomson Reuters as one of the nation’s top healthcare performance improvement leaders. Committed to community involvement, Dr. Mansfield is an active member of the Dallas Regional Chamber of Commerce, which he chaired in 2014. He is also the 2015 recipient of the Texas Association of Business’s Distinguished Business Leader Award. He was recognized by D Magazine as Healthcare Executive of the Year in 2014 and was included as “Top Newsmakers to Watch for 2013” by the Dallas Business Journal. In 2012, he was awarded “Entrepreneur of the Year” by Ernst & Young, and in 2009 he was selected as “Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser” by the March of Dimes.  He serves on the board for The Dallas County Community College District Foundation, Dallas Citizens Council, Institute of Healthcare Executives and Suppliers, Dallas Medical Resources, the American Hospital Association’s Governing Council, and State Fair of Texas Board of Directors. He is also a board member for his alma mater, the University of Tennessee at Martin. He and his wife, Marilyn, and their daughter reside in Dallas.

“As a huge fan of TWU and Dr. Feyten; an admirer of the great work of Ms. Dykes; and given the esteem I have for past recipients of the award, I am deeply humbled and honored to be the 2017 recipient of the Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award,” said Dr. Mansfied.

The Virginia Chandler Dykes Award namesake, Virginia Chandler Dykes, is known internationally for her work in occupational therapy. In 2012, Virginia and her late husband Roland were honored by the American Occupational Therapy Association for their sustained philanthropic service to Occupational Therapy Education, and in 2011, they were honored with the Texas Occupational Therapy Distinguished Service Award. Locally, she is known for her leadership in many cultural and charitable organizations. She was named the 2016 Visionary Woman by the Juliette Fowler Communities, and in 2014 she was honored as one of six Women of the Year by Les Femmes du Monde. In 2005 she was appointed by Gov. Rick Perry to serve on the Texas Woman’s University Board of Regents, where she served until 2011.

Mrs. Dykes completed the graduate occupational therapy program at TWU in 1954 after earning her bachelor of arts in art and psychology from Southern Methodist University. She was the director of the Occupational and Recreational Therapy Department at Baylor University Medical Center for 25 years. In 2002, she established The Virginia Chandler Dykes endowed scholarship fund at TWU for occupational therapy students.  Net luncheon proceeds provide additional scholarships for each of TWU’s four colleges: College of Health Sciences (Occupational Therapy), Nursing, Professional Education (COPE), and Arts and Sciences. Mrs. Dykes and her late husband Roland also helped to establish the Fanny B. Vanderkooi Endowed Lectureship for the School of Occupational Therapy at TWU, which has grown to be one of the premier continuing education offerings in Texas. She is also well known for her leadership in organizations such as The Dallas Opera, the Dallas Arboretum’s Women’s Council and the Fort Worth Opera.

“In addition to honoring outstanding individuals in the community, the Virginia Chandler Dykes luncheon provides scholarships for four outstanding graduate students, while continuing to grow the Virginia Chandler Dykes Endowment and helping the Dallas community better understand the value of TWU graduates to Dallas’ professional workforce,” added Dr. Feyten.

The following graduate students from all four colleges will be honored at the luncheon as recipients of scholarship funds: Laurie Stelter, College of Health Sciences (Occupational Therapy), sponsored by Edgemere – Dallas/SQLC Charitable Foundation; Katheryn Courville, College of Nursing, sponsored by Luther King Capital Management; Julie Southward, College of Professional Education (COPE); and Danielle “Kamica” King, College of Arts and Sciences.

In the past 15 years, more than $650,000 has been raised for scholarships from the proceeds of this luncheon. 

Tickets for the March 8 luncheon are $175 for silver patron; $250 for gold patron.  For more information, call940-898-3872, visit, or email

Texas Woman’s University is a public university that occupies a notable position in higher education as the nation’s largest university primarily for women with an enrollment of approximately 15,000. Its campuses in Denton, Dallas and Houston are joined by an e-learning campus offering innovative online degree programs in business, education and general studies. TWU serves the citizens of Texas in many important ways, including:  graduating more new healthcare professionals than any other university in Texas; easing the teacher shortage by placing highly qualified professionals in the classroom; offering a liberal arts-based curriculum that prepares students for success in a global society; and conducting research that impacts the prevention and treatment of childhood obesity, osteoporosis, stroke and diabetes. 

Recognize 19096 Views