Pin on Pinterest
Astronauts at Frontiers of Flight Museum Gala Astronaut-studded night at the Museum a huge success! With astronauts Frank Culbertson, Fred Haise, Jim Lovell, Michael Lopez-Alegira, Tom Stafford, Alan Bean, Eileen Collins, Walt Cunningham, Mary Ellen Weber, Gene Cernan, and Tom Henricks.

The Frontiers of Flight Museum Gala was an “out-of-this-world” event, including astronauts, avid aviators, business leaders and elected officials on Saturday, April 27. During this stellar evening, Congressman Ralph Hall was presented with the coveted George E. Haddaway Award for Achievement in Aviation in recognition of his dedicated advocacy of science, space and aviation as a member and Chairman of the Committee on Science, Space, and Technology of the U.S. House of Representatives. 

Col. Walter Cunningham, USMC (Ret.), the pilot on the Apollo 7 Mission, and his wife, Dot Cunningham,  were the Honorary Chairs for the 2013 Gala, themed “SPACE.” Other special guests and museum supporters were former U.S. Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison, Congressman Sam Johnson, and Texas Lt. Gov. David Dewhurst, among many others.

“The Frontiers of Flight Museum Gala was a very special evening dedicated to the accomplishments and contributions to aviation and space exploration,” said Cheryl Sutterfield-Jones, President and CEO, Frontiers of Flight Museum. “It was also a great fundraising opportunity to support the education of the next generation of aviators and astronauts through the museum’s incredible Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) programs that reach more than 10,000 students each year.”