Pin on Pinterest
(Left to Right): Peyton Eisnaugle, Preston Eisnaugle, Peter Johnsen, Claire Cowie, Marshall Nichol, Xavier Anani, Nick Ragland, Ashley Farley and Trey Willis. Members not pictured: Helena Burns, Morgan Cody, Grace Coleman, Katherine Cullins, Erin Egan, Lauren Hansford, Margaret Hamm, Kathleen Kilpatrick, Conner Rambin and Sam Stollenwerk.

The Citizen of the Year award was created by the City Council in 2005 to boost public awareness and appreciation for the many residents who work, often behind the scenes, to better the City's quality of life. This year’s honorees are the members of the 2013-14 Youth Advisory Commission.  The group will accept the award on behalf of dozens of teenagers who have served on the Commission since it was established six years ago.  After riding in the Fourth of July Parade, 2013-14 Commission members will be presented with a plaque during a brief ceremony at the Goar Park Gazebo.

Since 2008, Commission members have logged thousands of hours on tasks large and small.  They’ve volunteered at annual City events, including the tree lighting in Snider Plaza and the Fishing Derby in Caruth Park, and they’ve picked up trash in city alleys.  They’ve also assisted the elderly to make their properties code compliant, distributed door hangers about the City “Fight the Bite” campaign, spread the word about the City’s recycling programs, and provided the City Council with input on issues of interest to the community’s youth. Like past Citizen of the Year recipients, Commission members have demonstrated a willingness to contribute to the community without regard for recognition, and in doing so have made the community a better place to live, work and play. 

To serve on Youth Advisory Commission you must be a University Park resident.  Applications are accepted each spring. To be eligible for consideration you must be in high school or entering high school in the fall of the next academic year.  As part of the selection process, all Commission members are interviewed by a panel that includes City staff and at least one City Council member.     

Information procided by City of University Park.

Related Posts