Lee Gleiser – Guest Contributor
Oct 26 @ 1:17 pm
Meadows Symphony Orchestra



Central Standard Time



Virtual (Livestreaming)

Pin on Pinterest

Livestreaming from Caruth Auditorium in SMU’s Owen Arts Center; advance registration required.


Instead of its typical large ensemble, this fall the Meadows Symphony will feature the Meadows Chamber Orchestra, a string orchestra of approximately 20 players. The concert will open with Ralph Vaughan Williams’ lovely Five Variants of Dives and Lazarus, a work inspired by folk melodies and commissioned for the 1939 World’s Fair in New York. It will be followed by Ernest Bloch’s Concerto Grosso No. 1, a 1925 work that blends classical form with modern tonalities. Closing the program will be a string orchestra version of Modest Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition (1874), arranged by Jacques Cohen. Mussorgsky composed the work as a memorial to his friend, Russian artist Viktor Hartmann, after attending a retrospective exhibit of the artist’s work. To register to watch the livestreaming concert, please visit For more information call 214.768.2787.

Since changes may happen at any time, please refer to the Meadows events website the most up-to-date information.