Pin on Pinterest
Ray Washburne

Ray Washburne, President and CEO, Overseas Private Investment Corp. to speak at 2018 Woman of the Year Gala honoring Dr. Sandra Chapman
benefiting Les Femmes du Monde

Venise Stuart, President, Les Femmes du Monde
Mari Epperson and Melissa Lewis, Woman of the Year Gala Dinner Chairs

Les Femmes du Monde president Venise Stuart, along with Woman of the Year gala chairs Mari Epperson and Melissa A. Lewis, announce Ray Washburne, President and CEO, Overseas Private Investment Corporation (OPIC), as the featured speaker at the Wednesday, October 24th gala dinner honoring Dr. Sandra “Sandi” Chapman at the Dallas Country Club.        

Join us at this exciting opportunity to hear first-hand about the global aspects of the organization as Washburne discusses OPIC’s 2X Women’s Initiative: OPIC will invest $350 million globally in projects that support women-owned businesses, female entrepreneurs and create job opportunities for women in emerging nations.

Dr. Chapman, Woman of the Year, is a supporter who has helped make this organization and many nonprofits successful, embracing education for members and youth, while at the same time, helping others in our community.        She is the founder and chief director of the Center for BrainHealth™ at The University of Texas at Dallas, where she holds the Dee Wyly Distinguished University Chair. She is committed to maximizing cognitive performance and improving healthy brain development across the lifespan. A cognitive neuroscientist with more than 40 funded research grants and more than 200 publications, Dr. Chapman conducts scientific studies that apply novel approaches to advance creative and critical thinking, strengthen brain resilience and incite innovation throughout life.         

The evening begins at 6:00 p.m. with a VIP cocktail reception followed by a three-course seated dinner, speaker and presentation of the Woman of the Year.          

Individual tickets begin at $250 and are available for a limited time. Single Patron tickets are available at $500 each and $1,000. Sponsorships and underwriting are available. Visit the website for updates at 

2018 Beneficiaries:  Proceeds from the event benefit two beneficiaries:  The Child Life Program at Children’s HealthSM Children’s Medical Center and the Global Young Leaders Program of the World Affairs Council of Dallas/Fort Worth. 


The Child Life Program’s primary goal is to minimize the impact of illness on a child’s normal growth and emotional and cognitive development.  This involves establishing supportive relationships with patients and families and providing them with developmentally-appropriate information that helps them prepare for, understand and cope with their healthcare experiences. 


The Global Young Leaders and Education Programs at the World Affairs Council of Dallas/Fort Worth seeks to educate students and teachers on how international events affect  their lives, their communities, and their country.  The goal is to empower students to become effective, active global citizens and leaders in the community.  Celebrating its 14th anniversary in 2018, this program has impacted more than 1 million students and trained more than 8,000 teachers since its inception in 2004."

Mission Statement:  Since its beginning in 1961, Les Femmes du Monde is celebrating its 58th year of service. The mission is to provide funds for the support of the Children’s Medical Center of Dallas Child Life Program and the World Affairs Council of Dallas/Fort Worth International Education Program.

Membership: Membership in Les Femmes du Monde is open to the public and includes many benefits, such as invitations to events in private homes, the Woman of the Year celebration, New Member reception, Annual Meeting and Luncheon, and the opportunity to meet new friends and learn more about the world we live in.

Les Femmes Du Monde: Dedicated To Serving Dallas
Les Femmes du Monde has donated more than $2 million to the World Affairs Council of Dallas Fort Worth, and more than $850,000 to Children’s Medical Center.

Past Woman of the Year Honorees (in chronological order): 1986 Doris S. Dixon; 1987 Ruth Collins Sharp Altshuler; 1988 Caroline Rose Hunt; 1989 Annette Strauss, Mayor of Dallas; 1990 Vivian Castleberry; 1991 Mary Kay Ash; 1995 Ebby Halliday; 1996 Catherine Crier; 1997 Kay Bailey Hutchison, U.S. Senator; 1998 Laura Bush, First Lady of Texas; 1999 Juanita Miller; 2000 Nancy Brinker; 2001 Gloria Campos; 2002 Florence Shapiro, Texas State Senator; 2003 Liz Minyard and Gretchen Minyard Williams; 2005 Karen Hughes, Under Secretary of State for Public Diplomacy and Public Affairs; 2006 Billie Leigh Rippey; 2007 Dee Wyly; 2008 Anita Perry, First Lady of Texas; 2009 Yvonne Crum; 2011 Geraldine “Tincy” Miller; 2012 Dr. Gail Thomas, President and CEO, The Trinity Trust Foundation; 2013 Mary Lee Cox; 2014 Virginia Chandler Dykes, Gina Ginsburg, Lynn McBee, Margaret McDermott, Pat Smith, Nina Vaca; 2015 Virginia Cook; 2016 Couple of the Year Nancy and W. Herbert Hunt; 2017 Carmaleta Whiteley Felton.

Recognize 3511 Views
Related Posts