Pin on Pinterest
Jan Ward, President, Les Femmes du Monde; W. Herbert and Nancy Hunt, Couple of the Year honorees; Mary Lee Cox, Gala chair. Photo by Dana Driensky.

Mary Lee Cox, Chair | Jan Ward, President, Les Femmes du Monde       

(Dallas, TX)    Nancy and W. Herbert Hunt were announced as the 2016 Couple of the Year by Les Femmes du Monde at an event hosted by Joyce and Larry Lacerte in their home recently.

Mary Lee Cox is chairing the Tuesday, October 25th awards dinner at the Dallas Country Club. Jan Ward is president, Les Femmes du Monde. This is the 26th year of the honorees presentation and the 56th year of Les Femmes du Monde.

The gala evening will begin with a VIP cocktail reception, welcome by Scott Murray, emcee, a three course seated dinner, keynote speaker United States Congressman Joe Barton and presentation of the Couple of the Year. The Couple of the Year are supporters who have helped make this organization and many nonprofits successful and at the same time, helping others in our community over a significant number of years. Media sponsors are The Park Cities News/The Waters Family and

Proceeds from the event benefit two organizations:  The Child Life Program at Children’s Health/Children’s Medical Center and the International Education Program of the World Affairs Council of Dallas/Fort Worth. 

The Child Life Program’s primary goal is to minimize the impact of illness on a child’s normal growth and emotional and cognitive development.  This involves establishing supportive relationships with patients and families and providing them with developmentally-appropriate information that helps them prepare for, understand and cope with their healthcare experiences. 

The Education Programs at the World Affairs Council of Dallas/Fort Worth seeks to educate students and teachers on how international events affect  their lives, their communities, and their country.  The goal is to empower students to become effective, active global citizens and leaders in the community.  Celebrating its 12th anniversary in 2016, this program has impacted more than 1 million students and trained more than 8,000 teachers since its inception in 2004.

Individual tickets begin at $250 and are available for a limited time. Single Patron tickets are available at $500 each and $1,000. Sponsorships and underwriting are available.

Membership in Les Femmes du Monde is open to the public and includes many benefits, such as invitations to events in private homes, the annual Awards Celebration, New Member reception, Annual Meeting and Luncheon, and the opportunity to meet new friends and learn more about the world we live in.

Visit the website for updates: 

Les Femmes Du Monde: Dedicated To Serving Dallas: Les Femmes du Monde has donated more than $2 million to the World Affairs Council of Dallas Fort Worth, and more than $670,000 to Children’s Medical Center.

Past Woman of the Year Honorees (in chronological order): Doris S. Dixon; Ruth Collins Sharp Altshuler; Caroline Rose Hunt; Annette Strauss, Mayor of Dallas; Vivian Castleberry; Mary Kay Ash; Ebby Halliday; Catherine Crier; Kay Bailey Hutchison, U.S. Senator; Laura Bush, First Lady of Texas; Juanita Miller; Nancy Brinker; Gloria Campos; Florence Shapiro, Texas State Senator; Liz Minyard and Gretchen Minyard Williams; Karen Hughes, Under Secretary of State for Public Diplomacy and Public Affairs; Billie Leigh Rippey; Dee Wyly; Anita Perry, First Lady of Texas; Yvonne Crum; Geraldine “Tincy” Miller; Dr. Gail Thomas, President and CEO, The Trinity Trust Foundation; Mary Lee Cox; Virginia Chandler Dykes, Gina Ginsburg, Lynn McBee, Margaret McDermott, Pat Smith, Nina Vaca; Virginia Cook.


Recognize 4894 Views
Related Posts